mma / News

Dan Miragliotta Explains His Decision to DQ Alessio Sakara at UFC 154

November 19, 2012 | Posted by Jeremy Thomas

Referee Dan Miragliotta spoke on Monday with MMAjunkie about his decision to disqualify Alessio Sakara during his fight with Patrick Cote at UFC 154. Check out the highlights:

On why he stopped the fight: “As long as hand makes contact with the ear, it’s a legal strike. If you miss the ear and only hit the back of the head, it’s illegal.”

On why the rule banning blows to the back of the head was superseded: “Even though most of your hand is hitting the back of the head, if your pinkie knuckle is hitting him in the ear, it’s a legal shot. Maybe that’s what people don’t understand. They said, ‘Oh, it’s the back of the head.’ It is the back of the head, but it’s hitting him in the ear. You get a guy like Shane Carwin or Brock Lesnar, their hands are so big, when they hit you in the ear, they’re still hitting the mohawk. That whole hand is about five or six inches wide. The earlobe is two inches. So four inches of your hand is hitting that mohawk, and that’s considered a legal strike.”

On warning Sakara: “The second one didn’t look bad enough to stop the fight. In my mind, I’m thinking if he hits the back of the head again, I’m going to stop it and take a point away, or I’ll make it a verbal warning with his translator and let him know I’m going to take a point away. Then the next ones were clean. They were clean strikes, and the one that hit him hard was no longer a ‘watch the back of the head.’ It was time to either take points away or stop the fight.”

On Cote’s condition: “When I rolled him over, he looked like he didn’t know where he was at.”

On the Quebec Athletic Commission backing him: “They felt the DQ was OK being that they saw me warn him twice, and it happened so quickly, I just wasn’t able to stop it before the third one caused the damage that it did.”

article topics

Jeremy Thomas

comments powered by Disqus