music / Reviews

Flo Rida – Wild Ones Review

July 3, 2012 | Posted by Bill Wannop

Wild OnesLove him or hate him, it is hard not to acknowledge that Flo-Rida is an innovator at blending the line between hip-hop, pop, and dance club music. What is even more impressive is that he has been able to maintain his success for over 5 years, and with his fourth album, looks to prove again that he is king at making chart topping singles. Can Flo-Rida maintain his chart dominance or his flow all but dead?

1. “Whistle”
2. “Wild Ones” (featuring Sia)
3. “Let It Roll”
4. “Good Feeling”
5. “In My Mind, Part 2” (featuring Georgi Kay)
6. “Sweet Spot” (featuring Jennifer Lopez)
7. “Thinking of You”
8. “I Cry”
9. “Run” (featuring Redfoo)

The album was originally intended to be the sequel to his 2010 album Only One Flo (Part 1), titled Only One Rida (Part 2). The original intent was for the first album to be the more club friendly album, while the second album would be a more hip hop based record. However, after the poor commercial reception of the first album, Flo Rida abandoned and somewhat tried to recreate that first club heavy album. Not only did Flo Rida manage to surpass all his previous albums in terms of quality, he managed to create an album that really has no major flaws. This album from start to finish has quality material, and in reality it is a compilation of 9 songs that could all be singles. Flo Rida proves again on this album that in terms of creating hit club singles, that he is king.

The album starts out with the third single off the album, “Whistle”, and even through the song is very sexually suggestive, the production team around Flo Rida managed to create a song that is actually quite catchy. Next up is the second single, “Wild Ones” where Sia joins Rida on the hook and somewhat steals the show, providing a great chorus and adding that extra touch to the great verses given by Flo Rida.

The singles continue with “Let It Roll” which features a great sample from Freddie King – “Let the Good Times Roll” on the chorus. This track is a prime example of Flo Rida’s success. He is surrounded by a great production team that gives him upbeat, club tracks that sync perfectly with Flo-Rida’s up-tempo lyrics. In addition they are great at selecting and clearing great samples that really give the song that extra punch and will sure make it a big hit. This is also evident on the album’s first single, “Good Feeling” which features a great sample from Avicii/Etta James. The song has already been sold over 2 million times in the US, and I think that “Let It Roll” will achieve similar levels of success.

Georgi Kay adds chorus work to the track “In My Mind, Part2”, which would have been a good single, if not for the similar sounding “Wild Ones” on the same album. Georgi has that unique voice that really works with the track, but the unfortunate thing is that the track is not quite as good as “Wild Ones” . J-Lo tries to continue her comeback with her involvement in “Sweet Spot”, but the track is one of the weakest on the album and really J-Lo adds nothing to the track at all. She really feels out of place next to Georgi Kay, Sai as well as the great samples that are used for the other tracks. Another somewhat misstep is “Thinking of You”, which is a very out of place type of track for this album, as it is a somewhat slower track that has Flo Rida getting more emotional taking about love lost. It is not a bad track by any means, and maybe somewhat shows that Flo Rida is trying to break free from his club loving hit singles, but the track just does not sync with the rest of the album.

The album goes right back on point in a big way with “I Cry” which features another great sample in the form of a sped up Brenda Russell’s “Piano in the Dark”. This was my favorite track on the album, and I feel it can also reach similar status as “Good Feeling” in terms of radio play and downloads. Flo Rida is able to perfectly match the theme of the track to the sample to create a great dance track, that also has some decent lyrics, “Champagne buckets still got two tears in it/and I put that on my tattoo of Jimmy Hendrix/Get depressed let the outfit all in it/Cause the press tell it all, get a meal ticket/Sacrifice just to make a hit still vivid/Reality see when your blessed just kill critics”

The album from top to bottom is quite good, and you must really give credit to the production team surrounding Flo-Rida. SoFly, Futuristics, Dr. Luke among others crafted a great club album that fit the lyrics and style of Flo Rida perfectly. By mixing in the great samples they were able to make some really unique songs that prevented each track from sounding like the previous effort. While many people complain that Flo-Rida’s songs all sound somewhat similar, the addition of the samples really makes them stand out and give them their own life. The majority of tracks on the album could be standalone singles and likely will be filling the airwaves for many months to come. While the album does stumble a little bit in the middle, it is nowhere near the hit and miss quality of Flo Rida’s last few albums. Wild Ones proves again that Flo-Rida is the king of the single and he was able to make a whole party record where every song has single potential.

On Flo Rida’s previous efforts, I penalized him for making such a short record, and coming in at only 9 tracks this album is also on the short side. However, every song on her is good quality, and I am actually happy with this length, as there is no real album filler and it is short enough as to not tire of Flo-Rida’s formula.

The 411: Flo Rida proved on this album that he is still the king of the hip hop, pop, dance club tracks. He managed to make a good album from start to finish, with almost every track having single quality. The addition of the stellar production and added samples helped make the album even more memorable and made each track have its own identity, giving Flo Rida his best album to date.
Final Score:  8.0   [ Very Good ]  legend

article topics

Bill Wannop
comments powered by Disqus