Movies & TV / Columns

411’s Comic Reviews: Heroes in Crisis #5, G.I. Joe: Sierra Muerte #1, More

February 7, 2019 | Posted by Steve Gustafson
Heroes in Crisis 5

Hello and welcome to 411mania’s weekly Comic Book Review Roundtable! Each week we’ll be serving up a warm dish of reviews from Marvel, DC, and anything else that captures our interest. What did you pick up this week? Let us know in the comments.

Want to write a review? If you can write at least one review a week, consistently, email me at [email protected]!

Yesterday we discussed Our favorite Avengers lineup.

Now on with the show!

Atar Gull HC

Preview by Stephen Gustafson

Fabien Nury (The Death of Stalin, Tyler Cross) shares a story of slavery, determination, and revenge in 19th century Jamaica, in an award-winning graphic novel perfect for fans of Django Unchained!

Betrothed Vol. 1: TPB

Preview by Stephen Gustafson

Welcome to the World of Betrothed! Kieron and Tamara are both seniors at the same high school. They’ve never paid much attention to each other, even though they’re the only kids at school who are orphans. On the eve of their eighteenth birthdays, they discover a lifelong secret: in a dimension far away, they are each the leader of an army that is at war with the other. What’s more, they’re to be either Betrothed or Fight to the Death!

From writer Sean Lewis (The Few) and artist Steve Uy (Uncanny X-Men, Avengers Initiative, Grumpy Cat) comes a Romeo and Juliet story for the next generation. Collecting the entire series, issues #1-5.

Bags (Or a Story Thereof)

Preview by Stephen Gustafson

BAGS (OR A STORY THEREOF), a new original graphic novel by Patrick McHale, creator of the Emmy Award-winning Cartoon Network series Over The Garden Wall, artist Gavin Fullerton (Disney’s Space Chickens in Space), and colorist Whitney Cogar (Steven Universe), is the tale of a man and his dog. John Motts lives his life in his home with his dog, Beth, until one day, she goes missing. John begins a frantic search that leads him to the policeman’s home, the advice-giving walrus down the street, and eventually into the dark woods beyond the edge of town where he runs into several mysterious figures in this haunting tale of loss and the unknown.

“Patrick’s original short story comes to life with Gavin’s stunning art and Whitney’s classic colors as we follow a man who is shaken from his normal routine by a surprising and unexpected loss.” said Shannon Watters, Editor, BOOM! Studios. “In the wake of the disappearance of his dog, John follows an increasingly erratic train of thought which leads down an unusual and dangerous path until it may be too late to find his way back.”

G.I. Joe: Sierra Muerte #1

Review by Stephen Gustafson

G.I. Joe: Sierra Muerte #1 is an easy book to review. I love it. It’s a great throwback to a property that I grew up reading and remember fondly.

Michel Fiffe’s style has a simple appeal but it’s his understanding on what made G.I. Joe work on a couple of levels that propels this book to stellar levels. This is a 3 part series from IDW that brings back all of our favorite characters in the way we remember them.

He keeps a steady pace, giving us some slam-bang action but throwing in some character moments that will make old fans smile.

And the end…I won’t ruin it but it’s worth the ride to get there.

Like I mentioned, Fiffe’s artwork is different but works completely for this title. It’s easy to follow and enhances the story in a highly enjoyable manner.

New fans, don’t be pushed away. You’ll love this book because even though it uses a nostalgic set up, it’s a great story that will pull you in and make you want more.

This book encompasses many things that I love about comic books. Grab it and see for yourself.

Rating: 9.5 out of 10

Heroes in Crisis #5

Review by John Pumpernickel

Some comic books need to take a breath and let the readers catch up and digest the story they’ve read so far. Some might see that as a filler issue but Heroes in Crisis #5 is used to remind us just what’s at stake.

Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman are doing their best to contain the damage after the Sanctuary massacre while Booster Gold and Harley Quinn are in pursuit of the killer. While the story doesn’t move forward a great deal, Tom King still gives us plenty to chew on.

When dealing with mood, the artist makes or breaks the book. This is especially true in this issue. Artist Clay Mann puts you square in the situation and delivers a punch when it’s needed.

I enjoyed Heroes in Crisis #6 and if you’ve been following the series, you will too.

Rating: 9.0 out of 10

That’s all the time we have. Tell us what you’re reading below and see you back here next week! You can now find our reviews on ComicBookRoundUp.com!