music / News

2018 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Nominees Announced: Radiohead, LL Cool J, Bon Jovi, & More Nominated

October 5, 2017 | Posted by Larry Csonka

– The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announced the nominees for the class of 2018 today. They are…

* Bon Jovi
* Kate Bush
* The Cars
* Depeche Mode
* Dire Straits
* Eurythmics
* J. Geils Band
* Judas Priest
* LL Cool J
* MC5
* The Meters
* Moody Blues
* Radiohead
* Rage Against the Machine
* Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
* Nina Simone
* Sister Rosetta Tharpe
* Link Wray
* The Zombies

Nine out of 19 of the nominees are on the ballot for the first time, including: Eurythmics, Dire Straits, Judas Priest, Kate Bush, The Moody Blues, Nina Simone, Radiohead, Rage Against Machine and Sister Rosetta Tharpe. Radiohead and Rage Against the Machine became eligible for nomination for the 2018 Ceremony this year, having released their first official recordings in 1992.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame will again offer fans the opportunity to officially participate in the induction selection process. Beginning Oct. 5 and continuing through 11:59 p.m. EST on Dec. 5, 2017, fans can visit to cast votes. The top five artists, as selected by the public, will comprise a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the 2018 inductees. Fans will need to login with a Facebook account or email to vote. Voting is capped at one ballot per day.

NOTE: To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to the year of induction. The 2018 Nominees had to release their first official recording no later than 1992.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2018 Inductees will be announced in December 2017. HBO will once again present the ceremony with details to be announced.