music / News

Elton John Finishes New Album

February 23, 2013 | Posted by Joseph Lee

Billboard reports that Elton John has finished “the most piano-oriented album of my career” and will release it in September.

The album is called The Diving Board and has thirteen songs written in two sessions with lyricist Bernie Taupin. The first session was in January 2012 after he finished his album with Leon Russell called The Union. Four others were written and recorded last month.

While at Village Studios yesterday, he said: “We wrote 11 songs in three and recorded them in four days. In hindsight, I realize I never had that before.

T Bone Burnett produced The Union and produced this album as well. The accompaniment is minimal but features Jay Bellerose on drums, Rafael Saadiq on bass, Keefus Ciancia on keyboards, Doyle Bramhall on guitar and Motown legend Jack Ashford on percussion. John said that the block Ashford used on “A Town Called Jubilee” was the one used on Marvin Gaye’s “What’s Goin’ On.”

It features gospel, blues, jazz, brass band music, pop and waltz. John says it’s “everything I love about American music.” He added: “This is the album I should be making after ‘The Union.’ It’s my most adult album.

Here’s the track list:

“Oceans Away”
“Oscar Wilde Gets Out”
“A Town Called Jubilee”
“The Ballad of Blind Tom”
“My Quicksand”
“Can;t Stay Alone Tonight”
“Home Again”
“Take This Dirty Water”
“The New Fever Waltz”
“Mexican Vacation (Kids in the Candlelight)”
“Candlelit Bedroom”
“The Diving Board”

article topics

Joseph Lee

Comments are closed.