music / Reviews

Green Day – Dos Review

December 2, 2012 | Posted by Mark Radulich
The 411 Rating
Community Grade
Your Grade
Green Day – Dos Review  


1. “See You Tonight” 1:06
2. “Fuck Time” (“F-Woo Time” on the clean version) 2:45
3. “Stop When the Red Lights Flash” 2:26
4. “Lazy Bones” 3:34
5. “Wild One” 4:19
6. “Makeout Party” 3:14
7. “Stray Heart” (“Drama Queen” on early vinyl pressings) 3:44
8. “Ashley” 2:50
9. “Baby Eyes” 2:22
10. “Lady Cobra” 2:05
11. “Nightlife” (written by Billie Joe Armstrong and Monica Painter) 3:04
12. “Wow! That’s Loud” 4:27
13. “Amy” 3:25

¡Dos! is the tenth studio album by the America’s favroite punk rock band that they love to hate, Green Day. The album was released on November 13 in the United States through Reprise Records. It is the second of three albums in the ¡Uno! ¡Dos! ¡Tré! trilogy. Differing from its predecessor’s pop punk style, ¡Dos! was billed as Green Day’s take on garage rock. Does it succeed? Read on and we shall see.

I call Green Day America’s favorite band that they love to hate because much like Metallica, they tend to earn the ire of many listeners due to their tendency to stray from the beat path of their chosen musical genre. We can be an unforgiving lot when a band chooses to experiment with unfamiliar sounds outside of the established genre. Green Day has made a habit of doing ever since they put out “Good Riddance.” On ¡Dos! they keep in the spirit of decidedly being very un-punk as they try to establish the aforementioned garage rock sound.

The first song, “See You Tonight,” is a sweet little introductory ditty. Billie Joe Armstrong strums his acoustic guitar lightly while singing in an almost folk-ish tone. Think Paul Simon from Simon and Garfunkel. It’s a lot of repetition and simple chords and it sets up the listener for the rest of the album, which is decidedly not your typical punk rock album.

From there we go to “Fuck Time,” and oh baby, baby it is indeed “Fuck Time!” Aside from the crass title of the song, it is an awfully catchy straight up rock song. I found myself singing this one throughout the day even when I wasn’t listening to the album. It did what it was supposed to do in that stood out from the rest of the album and caught my attention early. If terrestrial radio can get away with playing it due to the chorus (and why not, since they play “Killing in the Name Of”) then Green Day certainly have a solid hit on their hands here.

“Stop When the Red Lights Flash,” follows in a similar vein as the aforementioned. “Fuck Time.” This is Green Day playing pretty standard rock music with catchy hooks and choruses. I mean, you can’t go wrong with, “I’ll make you surrender…” It worked just fine more or less for Cheap Trick.

“Lazy Bones,” is a pretty great rock song. It takes the same lyrical tone from “Longview,” about being bored with life but sets it to a more upbeat and enjoyal rhythm.

Two other songs that really stood out for me and are worth owning the whole album for are “Nightlife,” which features guest vocals from Lady Cobra (of the band Mystic Knights of the Cobra). This particular song is slower and darker than most Green Day songs and certainly on this album itself. One of the elements that make it stand out is that Lady Cobra raps in the middle of the song, which at first was a bit jarring but after I got used to it, definitely added a nice dimension to the sound. ¡Dos! also includes a track called “Lady Cobra”, which is dedicated to her. It is probably my favorite track on the whole album, despite the fact that it sounds distinctly like, “Fell In Love With A Girl,” by the White Stripes.

Lastly, Green Day ends ¡Dos! with a track dedicated to and about the departed Amy Winehouse. While I don’t particularly agree with the sentiment, I certainly can see why these guys appreciate this woman and would write essentially a love song to her. It’s a nice gesture and a pretty song. That’s all it had to be and in that it was successful.


The 411: ¡Dos! doesn’t necessarily break new ground nor will it change music as we know it. However, Green Day did a good job of writing some fairly memorable and/or catchy songs that one might enjoy on a long commute to work or while playing on the internet. Mission accomplished!
Final Score:  7.5   [ Good ]  legend

article topics

Mark Radulich

Comments are closed.