music / News

John Mellencamp, Kool & The Gang and More Join 2018 Songwriters Hall of Fame

February 7, 2018 | Posted by Joseph Lee
John Mellencamp

Billboard reports that John Mellencamp, Alan Jackson, Kool & the Gang (Robert “Kool” Bell, Ronald Bell, George Brown and James “JT” Taylor) and Jermaine Dupri will be the 2018 inductees to the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Jermaine Dupri will be the second hip-hop act inducted after Jay-Z last year. In addition to that, Allee Willis, who co-wrote the Broadway version of The Color Purple and wrote the theme song for Friends (“I’ll Be There For You”) will also be inducted with country singer-songwriter BIll Anderson and songwriter Steve Dorff.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame’s 49th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner happens on June 14 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel. Songwriters become eligible after writing songs for at least twenty years.

Dupri wrote popular songs like Mariah Carey’s “We Belong Together” and “Always Be My Baby,” Usher’s “Burn” and Monica’s “The First Night.” He has released his own albums and is popular songwriter and producer in Atlanta, where he launched the label So So Def. He helped the careers of Jagged Edge, Kriss Kross, Bow Wow, Xscape and more.

Mellencamp is already a member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and has written several hits like “Jack and Diane,” “Hurts So Good” and “R.O.C.K. in the U.S.A.” Jackson is already a member of the Country Hall of Fame and has been writing his own music since his 1990 debut album. 26 of his songs have hit the top of the Billboard country list.

Songwriters Hall of Fame co-chairs Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff, as well as President/CEO Linda Moran, said: “The 2018 roster of Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees is a prodigious representation of creators of cross-genre hits, certain to resonate with everyone. Each year, the slate of songwriters we induct is more diverse and illustrative of the history and contributions that we strive to acknowledge and honor.