music / News

2024 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees Announced: Ozzy Osbourne, Cher, Foreigner, More

April 21, 2024 | Posted by Jeremy Thomas
Ozzy Osbourne - Ordinary Man Image Credit: Epic Records

The 2024 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees have been announced and include Ozzy Osbourne, Cher, Foreigner and more. The Hall of Fame announced this year’s inductees on Sunday. Mary J. Blige, Cher, Dave Matthews Band, Foreigner, Peter Frampton, Kool & The Gang, Ozzy Osborne, and A Tribe Called Quest.

In addition, Jimmy Buffett, MC5, Dionne Warwick, and Norman Whitfield will be inducted under the Musical Excellence Award category while Alexis Korner, John Mayall, and Big Mama Thornton will be inducted in the Musical Influence Award category. Finally, de Passe Jones Entertainment Group co-chairwoman Suzanne de Passe will receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

The 2024 nominees who were not inducted include Mariah Carey, Eric B. & Rakim, Jane’s Addiction, Lenny Kravitz, Oasis, Sinead O’Connor, and Sade. The nominees were announced in February, and the final inductees were determined by votes from roughly 500 experts including academics, journalists, producers, and others with music industry experience.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame was established in 1983 and is located in Cleveland, Ohio. Artists are eligible for induction 25 years after the release of their first record. The Hall of Fame inducts artists from rock & roll and its descendant genres including, but not limited to, rock music.