music / News

Jay-Z, Foo Fighters, Iron Maiden Among 2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Nominees

February 11, 2021 | Posted by Jeremy Thomas

The 2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame nominees have been announced, with a list that includes Jay-Z, Foo Fighters, Tina Turner, Devo, Iron Maiden, and more. The Hall of Fame announced this year’s nominees for induction, which consist of the following:

* Carole King
* Chaka Khan
* Devo
* Dionne Warwick
* Fela Kuti
* Foo Fighters
* The Go-Go’s
* Iron Maiden
* Jay-Z
* Kate Bush
* LL Cool J
* Mary J. Blige
* New York Dolls
* Rage Against the Machine
* Tina Turner
* Todd Rundgren

Eligibility to the Hall of Fame each year is determined by the following criteria: the artist or band must have released its first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination and must show influence and significance in their contributions to the development and perpetuation of rock and roll. By “rock and roll,” the Hall of Fame considers the classic version of the term which, while largely associated with rock music, is a more expansive genre that started with the likes of Little Richard and Chuck Berry, and found its roots in blues, bluegrass, gospel, jazz and the like. Thus, popular music genres like pop, R&B, hip-hop, reggae and many other genres, which branched off of the likes of funk and jazz, have been eligible since the Hall of Fame’s founding in 1983.

Inductees will be announced in May, with the induction ceremony taking place in Cleveland, Ohio in the fall. A fan vote is available at the above link and the top top five artists selected by the public will comprise a “fans’ ballot” that will ultimately be tallied along with the other ballots to determine the final list of 2021 inductees.