mma / News

Matt Schnell vs. Tyson Nam Scratched From UFC on ESPN+ 35

September 12, 2020 | Posted by Jeremy Thomas
Matt Schnell

Matt Schnell will not fight Tyson Nam tonight at UFC on ESPN+ 35 after Schnell had weight-cutting issues. UFC officials confirmed to MMA Weekly that the fight was canceled due to Schnell having weight management issues. First Round Management’s Matt Weibel later confirmed in a now-deleted Tweet that Schnell collapsed while cutting weight, posting:

“Matt Schnell was attempting to cut his final 2 pounds at approximately 6:30 AM, as he got off the scale, he put his hands on his knees and unfortunately collapsed.

Obviously, for precautionary reasons, he has been pulled from the card and is resting at the hospital. He is doing better, just disappointed.”

That leaves tonight’s show with 12 fights. The show airs tonight with a 5 PM ET/2 PM PT pre-show, followed by the main card at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT.