Movies & TV / News

DC FanDome: The Suicide Squad Panel Reveals John Cena & Idris Elba’s Characters, First Footage

August 22, 2020 | Posted by Jeremy Thomas
The Suicide Squad

We now know who John Cena, Idris Elba and more are playing in The Suicide Squad thanks to the James Gunn-hosted panel at DC FanDome. During the panel, which took place on Saturday, Gunn brought on the ensemble cast and revealed who they’re playing.

In addition to returns of Viola Davis (Amanda Waller), Joel Kinnaman (Rick Flag), Jai Courtney (Captain Boomerang), and Margot Robbie (Harley Quinn), the main cast was announced as follows:

* Michael Rooker: Savant
* Flula Borg: Javelin
* David Dastmalchian: Polka Dot Man
* Daniuel Melchior: Ratcatcher 2
* Idris Elba: Bloodsport
* Steve Agee: John Economos and on-set King Shark
* Mayling Ng: Mongal
* Peter Capaldi: The Thinker
* Alice Braga: Sol Soria
* Pete Davidson: Blackguard
* Nathan Fillion: T.D.K.
* Sean Gunn: Weasel
* Jai Courtney: Captain Boomerang
* John Cena: Peacemaker
* Juan Diego Botto: Presidente General Silvia Luna
* Joaquín Cosío: Mayor General Mateo Suarez

Gunn noted during the panel that the studio is very happy with the film as it’s currently shaping up. He added that it’s “cutting together very fluidly.” You can see the character reveal trailer below, along with a behind-the-scenes video which contains the first footage from the film.

The video presents the film with behind-the-scenes interviews, and based on it the film looks to have a much different feel than the first film. We get looks at the cast as well — Cena describes his character as a “douchey Captain America,” for example — and we get a ton of action footage, while Kinnaman says that “don’t get too attached” to the characters, suggesting that (no surprise) not everyone’s making it to the finale.

The film is written and directed by Gunn and builds off the previous, David Ayer-directed Suicide Squad. Production is complete on the film, which Gunn is editing and hits theaters on August 6th, 2021.

article topics :

The Suicide Squad, Jeremy Thomas