music / News

Jay Z Among Inductees For 2017 Songwriters Hall of Fame

February 22, 2017 | Posted by Joseph Lee

CBS News reports that the inductees were revealed for the Songwriters Hall of Fame class of 2017 by Nile Rodgers. They include Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds, Berry Gordy, Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, Robert Lamm, James Pankow and Peter Cetera of Chicago Max Martin, and Shawn “Jay Z” Carter. This makes Jay Z the first rapper to get the honor. He has the most #1 albums for a solo artist on the Billboard 200 with thirteen.

Max Martin’s hits include Britney Spears’ “Baby One More Time” and Backstreet Boys’ “I Want it That Way.” He also co-wrote Katy Perry’s “I Kissed A Girl” and Taylor Swift’s “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together.” He’s written or co-written 22 #1 songs, only surpassed by Paul McCartney and John Lennon.

Edmonds is responsible for hits like his own “When Can I See You,” Toni Braxton’s “Breathe Again” and Boyz II Men’s “I’ll Make Love to You.” The latter song spent 14 weeks at #1 in 1994.

Lamm, Pankow and Cetera, as part of Chicago, have had 33 top 40 songs over thirty years.

Jam and Lewis previously worked together as part of The Time. They became producers and co-wrote Janet Jackson’s first #1 song “When I Think of You.” They would later co-write eight more #1 songs for her.

Finally, Gordy is the man behind the Motown label. He’s written hits for Jackie Wilson, Smokey Robinson and four #1 songs for The Jackson 5, who he signed in 1969.